Board of Trustees (BOT)

The board of trustees is a crown entity and is responsible for the governance of Mossburn School. The key focus of their role is the improvement of student progress and achievement. The Board of Trustees key areas of contribution are to:
● Set and, as needed, modify the vision, mission and values
● Protect the special character/values of the school
● Ensure a sensible and feasible Strategic Plan
● Approve and monitor the Annual Plan
● Develop and review the general policy direction
● Monitor and evaluate student learning outcomes
● Appoint, assess the performance of and support the Principal
● Act as good employers
● Provide financial stewardship
● Oversee, conserve and enhance the resource base
● Approve major policies and programme initiatives
● Manage risk
● The board is committed to a programme of professional development that
includes new trustee induction
● Build a broad base of community support
● Exercise governance in a way that fulfils the intent of the Treaty of Waitangi
by valuing and reflecting New Zealand's dual cultural heritage.
The Board of Trustees has the overall responsibility for Mossburn School, which
includes certain legal obligations covering responsibility for property and personnel,
the proper management of school finances, reporting to the Ministry of Education on
student achievement and the development of the Charter.

2024 BOT Members:

Denis Heenan - Presiding Member

Michelle Taylor - Property/Health and Safety

Nathan Shirley - Finance

Nikasha Naylor  - Dome Network

Tanya McDowall - Staff Representative

Tracey Doak - Principal

Nicola White - Secretary

Alexa Smith - Public relations & cultural engagement

Parent Liaison Committee (PLC)

The school has a parent body that enhances the link between school, home and the
Board of Trustees. They generally hold meetings once each term. They organize
various fundraising projects during the year. All parents and members of the
community are encouraged to be involved, as the funds benefit all the children at the
school to help fund the many extras which the Operations Grant from the Ministry
does not cover.

Lisa Powell - President

Casey Smith - Secretary

Nikasha Webster - Treasurer

Supporters and Sponsors

Parents, please support our local businesses

Te Anau Plumbing AB Lime Chris Swale - Country & Co. Realty Ltd Northern Southland Transport Ltd Southland Forest Services

Login to Mossburn School